Close

Sign Up To Our Newsletter By simply choosing your preferences below you can now manage your own e-mail account. Tick the boxes indicating your interests, and we will do the rest. It’s quick and easy to join, and if at any time if you wish to unsubscribe, or alter the choices you made, click the 'update preferences' option in the footer on any e-mails you receive.

Assisted Performances

We are committed to providing access for all, and offer a range of captioned, audio described, relaxed and sign language interpreted performances. You can find details of all the productions currently offering an assisted performance below.

Audio described performances
Live commentary via personalised headphones for blind or partially sighted patrons. Braille and Large Print cast lists will be available for these performances, with programme notes broadcast 15 minutes prior to the performance.

Touch Tours
Touch tours enable Blind and partially sighted people a unique opportunity to go onto the stage and explore the sets, costumes and props before the performance begins.

Captioned performances
English text displayed on a unit for people who are hard of hearing. Captions also include sound effects, offstage noises and character names.

Sign Language Interpreted Performances (SLIP)
A BSL interpreted performance is where the vocal line is interpreted into sign language. The interpreter stands at the front of the stage to one side allowing you to view both the signer and the production.

Watch Beauty And The Beast BSL Trailer
Watch Beauty And The Beast BSL Relaxed Performance Trailer

 

Assisted Performances

Beauty and the Beast Pantomime

SLIP: Thursday 14 December 1.30pm,
Sunday 17 December 1.30pm & Friday 12 January 7.15pm.
Audio Described: Saturday 16 December 2.30pm & Sunday 7 January 1.30pm.
Captioned: Saturday 6 January 2.30pm
Relaxed: Wednesday 10 January 1.30pm & 7.15pm

Hedda Gabler

Audio Described: Saturday 10 February 2.30pm.
Touch Tour: Saturday 10 February 1pm

Hairspray Tickets

Hairspray

SLIP: Friday 23 February 7.30pm.
Audio Described: Saturday 24 February 2.30pm.
Captioned: Saturday 24 February 2.30pm.
Touch Tour: Saturday 24 February 1.30pm

Rambert

SLIP: Wednesday 28 February 7.30pm.
Please book seats in the Dress Circle for this performance.

Matthew Bourne's Cinderella

Audio Described: Saturday 10 March 2.30pm
Touch Tour: Saturday 10 March 1pm

Opera North Madama Butterfly

Opera North: Madama Butterfly

Audio Described: Thursday 15 March 2018 7.30pm.
Touch Tour: Thursday 15 March 2018 6.15pm

War Horse

SLIP: Saturday 24 March 2018 2.30pm
Audio Described: Saturday 24 March 2.30pm
Captioned: Thursday 29 March 2018 7.30pm

Cilla The Musical

Captioned: Wednesday 4 April 2018 7.30pm

The Jungle Book

Captioned: Friday 20 April 2018 7pm

Flashdance

SLIP: Wednesday 9 May 2018 7.30pm

Jersey Boys

Captioned: Tuesday 15 May 7.30pm
SLIP: Wednesday 16 May 7.30pm
Audio Described: Thursday 17 May 7.30pm

The Band Musical

The Band

Audio Described: Wednesday 13 June 7.30pm
SLIP: Tuesday 19 June 7.30pm
Captioned: Wednesday 20 June 7.30pm

Gangsta Granny

Relaxed: Thursday 12 July 7pm

Shrek The Musical

SLIP: Wednesday 19 September 7pm
Audio Described: Saturday 22 September 2.30pm
Captioned: Saturday 22 September 2.30pm