Close

Sign Up To Our Newsletter By simply choosing your preferences below you can now manage your own e-mail account. Tick the boxes indicating your interests, and we will do the rest. It’s quick and easy to join, and if at any time if you wish to unsubscribe, or alter the choices you made, click the 'update preferences' option in the footer on any e-mails you receive.

Assisted Performances

We are committed to providing access for all, and offer a range of captioned, audio described, relaxed and sign language interpreted performances. You can find details of all the productions currently offering an assisted performance below.

Audio described performances
Live commentary via personalised headphones for blind or partially sighted patrons. Braille and Large Print cast lists will be available for these performances, with programme notes broadcast 15 minutes prior to the performance.

Touch Tours
Touch tours allow visually impaired people a unique opportunity to go onto the stage and explore the sets, costumes and props before the performance begins.

Captioned performances
English text displayed on a unit for people with hearing impairments.

Sign Language Interpreted Performances (SLIP)
A BSL interpreted performance is where the vocal line is interpreted into sign language. The interpreter stands at the front of the stage to one side allowing you to view both the signer and the production.

 

Assisted Performances

Beautiful

SLIP: Wednesday 18 October 7.30pm
Audio Described: Thursday 19 October 7.30pm
Captioned: Thursday 19 October 7.30pm

Opera North tickets Little Greats

Opera North: Trouble in Tahiti & Trial by Jury

Audio Described: Friday 3 November 7.15pm.
Touch Tour: Friday 3 November 6pm

The Little Mermaid

Audio Described: Saturday 11 November 2.30pm
Touch Tour/Workshop: Saturday 11 November 12 - 1.15pm

Blood Brothers

SLIP: Wednesday 22 November 7.30pm
Captioned: Saturday 25 November 2.30pm

Beauty and the Beast Pantomime

SLIP: Thursday 14 December 1.30pm,
Sunday 17 December 1.30pm & Friday 12 January 7.15pm.
Audio Described: Saturday 16 December 2.30pm & Sunday 7 January 1.30pm.
Captioned: Saturday 6 January 2.30pm
Relaxed: Wednesday 10 January 1.30pm & 7.15pm

Hairspray Tickets

Hairspray

SLIP: Friday 23 February 7.30pm.
Audio Described: Saturday 24 February 2.30pm.
Captioned: Saturday 24 February 2.30pm.

Matthew Bourne's Cinderella

Audio Described: Saturday 10 March 2.30pm
Touch Tour: Saturday 10 March 1pm

Opera North Madama Butterfly

Opera North: Madama Butterfly

Audio Described: Thursday 15 March 2018 7.30pm.
Touch Tour: Thursday 15 March 2018 6.15pm

WarHorse

SLIP: Saturday 24 March 2018 2.30pm
Audio Described: Saturday 24 March 2.30pm
Captioned: Thursday 29 March 2018 7.30pm

The Jungle Book

Captioned: Friday 20 April 2018 7pm

Flashdance

SLIP: Wednesday 9 May 2018 7.30pm

Jersey Boys

Captioned: Tuesday 15 May 7.30pm
SLIP: Wednesday 16 May 7.30pm
Audio Described: Thursday 17 May 7.30pm

Sunset Boulevard

SLIP: Wednesday 23 May 2018 7.30pm
Audio Described & Captioned: Saturday 26 May 2.30pm