This is a past event and is currently no longer running.

London Sinfonietta

Classical Music
This event has passed.


£2 for online bookings or £3 for phone & counter sales applies per transaction.

Share This Event


Have A Listen

Steve Reich  Clapping Music
Steve Reich  Music for Mallet Quartet
Steve Reich  Nagoya Marimbas
Steve Reich  Music for Eighteen Musicians

One of the pioneering figures of Minimalist music in the 1960s, Steve Reich influenced a huge range of composers through his innovative use of repetitive figures and slow harmonic rhythm to create hypnotic phasing patterns. This concert by the acclaimed London Sinfonietta comprises four classic works, beginning with the simplest of forms – two performers getting progressively more out of sync when clapping – and ending with his seminal 1976 Music for Eighteen Musicians, which combines instrumentalists and vocalists over a cycle of 11 chords to create a pulsating hour of shape-shifting rhythms.

This concert is supported by: